Certification In India

CSA STAR Certification

Cloud Security Alliance (CSA) Security Trust Assurance and Risk (STAR) Certification

What is CSA STAR Certification?

CSA STAR Certification stands for Cloud Security Alliance Security Trust Assurance and Risk (STAR) Certification. It’s a program developed by the Cloud Security Alliance (CSA) aimed at helping organizations assess the security posture of cloud service providers.

The CSA STAR Certification provides assurance to customers that a cloud service provider (CSP) adheres to the necessary security controls and practices required to protect sensitive data and ensure the integrity of their services. It involves a rigorous assessment process conducted by qualified auditors to evaluate the security controls implemented by the CSP.

There are three levels of CSA STAR Certification:

  1. CSA STAR Self-Assessment: In this level, the cloud service provider conducts a self-assessment of their security controls based on the CSA Cloud Controls Matrix (CCM) and submits it to CSA for validation.

  2. CSA STAR Certification (Level 1): This level involves an independent third-party assessment of the cloud service provider’s security controls against the CSA CCM. If the provider meets the required criteria, they receive CSA STAR Certification.

  3. CSA STAR Certification (Level 2): This is the highest level of certification and involves a more rigorous assessment of the CSP’s security controls, including an examination of operational security, privacy, and other aspects. It provides customers with greater confidence in the security measures implemented by the provider.

Overall, CSA STAR Certification helps organizations make informed decisions when selecting cloud service providers by providing transparency and assurance regarding the security practices and controls in place.

Benefits of CSA STAR Certification

Enhanced Security Assurance

For CSPs, achieving CSA STAR Certification demonstrates their commitment to implementing robust security measures and adhering to industry best practices. This enhanced security assurance helps build trust with customers, as they can be confident that their data and systems are protected adequately.

Competitive Advantage

Holding CSA STAR Certification can give CSPs a competitive edge in the market. Many organizations prioritize security when selecting a cloud service provider, and having third-party validation of security controls can differentiate a provider from competitors.

Risk Mitigation

For customers, CSA STAR Certification provides assurance that the CSP has undergone rigorous security assessments and meets specific security standards. This helps mitigate the risk of security breaches, data loss, or other security incidents that could impact the customer's operations.

Transparency and Accountability

CSA STAR Certification promotes transparency by requiring CSPs to disclose their security practices and controls. This transparency fosters accountability, as CSPs are held accountable for maintaining the security of their services and complying with industry standards.

Streamlined Vendor Evaluation

Customers can use CSA STAR Certification as a criterion when evaluating potential cloud service providers. By choosing certified providers, customers can streamline the vendor selection process and reduce the time and effort required for due diligence.

Alignment with Industry Standards

CSA STAR Certification is aligned with industry-recognized security frameworks and standards, such as the CSA Cloud Controls Matrix (CCM) and ISO/IEC 27001. This alignment ensures that certified CSPs adhere to established security principles and practices.

Who can get CSA STAR Certification?

CSA STAR Certification is available to any cloud service provider (CSP) that offers cloud-based services, regardless of their size or geographic location. This includes 

  • Infrastructure as a Service (IaaS)
  • Providers
    Platform as a Service (PaaS) Providers
  • Software as a Service (SaaS) Providers
  • Managed Service Providers (MSPs)
  • Cloud Hosting Providers
  • Cloud Storage Providers
  • Cloud Security Providers
  • Cloud Backup Providers
  • Cloud Consulting Firms
  • Cloud Integration Service Providers
  • Cloud Managed Security Service Providers
  • Cloud Disaster Recovery Service Providers
  • Cloud Application Development Providers
  • Cloud Data Analytics Service Providers
  • Cloud Networking Providers
  • Cloud Identity and Access Management Providers
  • Cloud Compliance Service Providers
  • Cloud Monitoring and Management Service Providers
  • Cloud Training and Education Providers
  • Cloud Migration Service Providers

What is the Role of Shamkris?



Gap Assessment

Gap Report

Technical Review

UAPT & Remedies

Preparation of Documents

Policy, Procedures, Formats, Checklist


Awareness & Internal Audit


Record Generation, Review of Implementation of CSA STAR

Third Party Audit / Assessment

NCR Closure & Issued Certification

Annual Support

Monthly / Quarterly / Half Year / Yearly

Issuing Authority of CSA STAR

Approved Agency
Approved CB